THE LIE TREE wins 2015 Costa Children’s Book Award


the lie tree frances hardingeFrances Hardinge’s The Lie Tree won the 2015 Costa Children’s Book Award. The Costa Book Awards honors the best books of the year published by a U.K. or Ireland author.

In The Lie Tree, Faith’s father is found dead and she is determined to find the truth, with the help of a tree that feeds off whispered lies.

According to The Guardian, “Frances Hardinge wins £5000 and The Lie Tree is now eligible to win the overall 2015 Costa Book of the Year,” who also noted that “the Costa has only been won once by a children’s author – and that was Philip Pullman with The Amber Spyglass in 2001.”

The judges of the 2015 Costa Children’s Book Award are writer Martyn Bedford, book buyer Melissa Cox, and editor and reviewer Andrea Reece.

Hayley Long’s Sophie Someone and Frances Hardinge’s The Lie Tree were the two YA books to be named to the 2015 Costa Children’s Book Awards finalist list. The other two novels to make the finalists list were middle grade novels: Sally Nicholls’ An Island of Our Own and Andrew Norriss’ Jessica’s Ghost.

Have you read The Lie Tree? Did you like it? Sound off in the comments below!

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at or Tumblr at . Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.